History of Garmoran
History of Garmoran
Garmoran Square – MacRuairi, Tioram, Shiel and Somerled
The apartments got their names after Amie MacRuairi who built Castle Tioram, which is surrounded by Loch Moidart. The river Shiel runs into the loch. Amie the daughter of Ruairi MacRuairi of Garmoran, great granddaughter of Ruairi founder of the Garmoran family. Lands of Garmoran which included Knoydart, Moidart, Arisaig and Morrar. Garmoran was known to the Highlanders by the name of Garbh Criochan or the Rough Bounds. Ruairi’s grandfather was Somerled – Lord of the Isles. Famous for driving the Vikings out of the Hebrides and from whom the Clan Donald descend.
Amie’s Castle and the Clanranald
Christina MacRuairi friend of Robert the Bruce and aunt to Amie, granted the Garmoran lands to her half-brother Ruairi. There is a local tradition that Amie MAcRuairi, first wife of John of Isla, built Castle Tioram. Upon divorce from John, she retired to Moidart, where she improved the already existing Castle Tioram in about 1353.
John of Isla granted what became the Clandranard lands and the castle to Ranald who was his son by Amie. This was confirmed by King Robert II in 1373. Ranald became the 1st chief of the Clanranald.
Garmoran Square – build history
Garmoran Square was built in 2005 and opened in 2006, purpose build self-catering accommodation designed to the highest standards. Garmoran Square was built on croft land to the side of our home. The concept was to build a luxury treat for people to come and stay and enjoy the amazing area we get to live in.
Enjoying the History today
There is more to Ardnamurchan and Moidart than stunning scenery. Look beyond the landscapes to discover the history and culture of this very special part of the Scottish Highlands. What better place to follow in the footsteps of the Highlanders and immerse yourself in a world of battles, clan rivalry, and social upheaval. Here are some suggestions